The Joanne Vannicola Website

Toronto Arts Council Awards Grants to 89 Writers

Grants totaling $268,500 have been awarded to 89 City of Toronto writers through the 2000 Grants to Writers program. Two juries assessed 216 applications in total and recommended grants to 41% of the applicants.

The program is designed to provide assistance to writers for the creation of new works or works-in-progress in the genres of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and stage or radio plays. The juried program offers two levels of grants: $1,500 for writers with little or no prior history of publication or production, and $4,500 for writers with a history of publication or production. The jury members are not told the names of the applicants prior to making their grant recommendations.

Grants were recommended to the following writers:

Level One ($1,500) Rehan Ansari, James Arthur, Andrew Borkowski, Barbara Brown, Philip Cairns, Torquil Colbo, Sally Cooper, Joe Davies, Kris Doda, Isabel Duarte, Beth Follett, Jonathan Garfinkel, Finn Harvor, Dalton Higgins, Karen Hill, Nancy Johnston, Edward Keenan, Susan Kernohan, Xiaoping Li, Julia Luttrell, Sally McBride, Richard McGinnis, Terri Monture, Martin Mordecai, Andrea Mozarowski, Ralph Osborne, Tanya Palmer, Randy Park, Wendy Phillips, Charles Picco, Marlene Ritchie, Shelagh Rowan-Legg, Anik See, Carol Seymour, F. Tyler Shaw, Doreen Silversmith, Zoe Song, Dale Sproule, Helen Stathopulos, Robert Tsonos, Joanne Vannicola, Deborah Villeneuve, Chris Warren, Nancy Wesson

Level Two ($4,500) Pat Andrade, Patty Archer, Gail Arthur, Jim Bartley, Jill Battson, Bruce Bell, Robert Boyczuk, Wendy Brathwaite, Chris Chambers, Beverley Cooper, Brian Day, Raywat Deonandan, Kenneth Dyba, Cary Fagan, Florence Gibson, Sally Gibson, Maria Gould, Terence Green, James Harkness, Pamela Hitchins-Mordecai, Arnold Itwaru/Natasha Ksonzek, Catherine Jenkins, Richelle Kosar, Lesley Krueger, David Layton, Greg MacArthur, Kyo MacLear, ahdri zhina mandiela, Glen McArthur, Janice McCurdy Banigan, Robert McKenna, Leanna McLennan, Sonja Mills, Lisa Phipps, Michael Redhill, Sheldon Rosen, Karen Shenfeld, Susanna Smith, Allan Stratton, Dragan Todorovic, Rhea Tregebov, Mansa Trotman, Priscila Uppal, Marnie Woodrow, Jean Yoon

Level One jury members: Nadia Halim (non-fiction writer/editor), Drew Hayden Taylor (playwright/journalist), Maria Jacobs (poet/publisher), Shyam Selvadurai (novelist)

Level Two jury members: Ramabai Espinet (poet/fiction writer), David Hayes (non-fiction writer), Judy Fong Bates (fiction writer), Dirk Mclean (playwright/poet/children's author)

For more information, contact Anne-Marie Bénéteau at 392-6802 ext. 208.

Toronto Arts Council, July 24, 2000

Copyright (c) 2000-2003 by .  All rights reserved.
This page may be reprinted for personal reading use only.  Any other uses of this page are strictly
prohibited without the specific written consent of the author. If you have questions, suggestions, or
comments about this site, email me at , or fill out the Comments page.
For technical problems regarding this site, contact .

This page was last updated: May 20, 2006